Why is Social Media Important?

ComputerCoffeeTaking that first step with your online strategy can be a little overwhelming, with content marketing, social media marketing, email campaigns, search engine optimization and endless reading. Staying on top of the online presence is no easy task and in some industries seems to be undervalued and often ignored. A company’s online presence has grown from just a marketing channel to an international representation of the company’s brand. It has become the voice, opinions, interests and personification of the brand itself.

The other day while I was on my way to grab a coffee before I headed into the office I decided to take a different route and stop at a different shop. I’m guilty of being a long time fan of Starbucks but I really did feel gouged at the recent mark up for a cup of coffee. With less than 25 cents as my catalyst I made the decision to try Urban Village even though I was a bit doubtful due to the price to food ratio for their lunch. Surprised, I bought a coffee equal to Starbucks Grande size and a muffin for 23 cents less than what I would normally pay for coffee itself at Starbucks.

With global transparency at an all time high, the audience has access to more information that it’s ever had. And what do people do with valued information? They share it with their friends, families, colleagues and professional networks in hopes that they too will find it entertaining, insightful or useful.
I can assure you that I shared this information with my colleagues because I was genuinely pleased and surprised with the score.
shattered
Then it hit me. Through the use of online marketing tools a local competitor to Starbucks could have easily anticipated this move. I used to cringe at the sight of people’s feeds that included every minuscule detail of their mundane lives. However, now enlightened I stand corrected because through relevant Tweets a business owner could discover my negative sentiment towards the mark up and could have simply converted me. If convenient enough he would have a long time customer and I’m sure that it would catch on with the office too.

The proper implementation of social media and online marketing is not a trend.  These new channels and platforms are the beginning of a new way of doing business. Content marketers, social media enthusiasts and community managers need to be using online marketing tools that leverage their efforts if they are to increase their progress. The scope of online marketing has grown and is continuing to grow and therefore marketers need increase their reach. Marketing today consists of wearing many hats and it’s easy to forget to change your hat sometimes, so it nice to have a little help sometimes.

Author: Anthony Baisi

2 thoughts on “Why is Social Media Important?

  1. Having a great mobile site that works is also important. To your point, if I Google coffee near location X on my phone and the first website is not mobile friendly, I will simply go to the competition with the mobile friendly website.

Leave a Reply

